Spring ’17: Sin City Seven

Las Vegas for 7 straight days. A whole week in Sin City. Yikes!

I didn’t think I could do it. Would I still have my sanity? Would my ears be ringing from the slot machines? Would I become blind from the neon lights? Would I be hacking from all the cigarette smoke? I’m happy to say that none of these things actually happened. Yes, I survived. I did, however, see a 70-year old dude walking down Fremont Street wearing nothing but a G-string thong. Like the saying goes, “What Happens In Vegas, Stays In Vegas”.

This was my 28th trip to Vegas.  Almost all these trips have been for the annual DJ convention Mobile Beat Las Vegas or the Wedding MBA conference held each October. This was the first time that I spent more than 4 days.  What was different this year is that I bookended the Mobile Beat conference with a 2-day “hands-on” wedding workshop hosted by Mark & Rebecca Ferrell. More on that below, but here’s a photo recap of the week:

Day 1: After spending a few days in sunny San Diego visiting friends and family, I drove to Vegas with two other DJ friends. Thank you Eric for the Tesla experience. This photo was taken at a charging station in Barstow.

Day 2 & 3: Close to 1,000 DJs from all over the US and the world converged on Las Vegas for 4 days of learning and networking…and a few parties. My good friend Marcello Pedalino kicked things off on Monday with the opening presentation. It was a tough act to follow for the next 20 presenters over the following 4 days.

Day 4: It wasn’t all work and no play. After 2 straight days of seminars, it was time to get some fresh air. We headed out to Red Rock Park 30 minutes east of the city for a hike with a few dozen of my favorite DJs. This spot is highly recommend, and is a welcome respite from the craziness of Las Vegas. There are several fantastic trails of varying lengths just off the 13-mile loop road that goes around the park.

Day 5: After a final day of seminars, it was time for another break. We checked out the Neon Museum, home to all the vintage signs that lined the Strip over the decades. Yes, even the old Stardust and Riviera signs are here. I couldn’t resist taking this photo.

Day 6 & 7: My week in Nevada wrapped up with a 2-day, 16-hour Love Story workshop hosted by Mark & Rebecca Ferrell. I highly recommend their workshops for any DJs who want to take their business and skills to the next level. See link above for more information, and their upcoming workshop schedule.

Leave a Reply

